SLU Releases 2012-13 Schedule
Kwamain Mitchell (By: Bill Barnett)

Posted Sep 6, 2012


SLU released its 2012-13 schedule today, which was highlighted by a number of tough Atlantic 10 battles as well as several non-conference clashes.

St. Louis - Saint Louis University today announced the Billikens' 2012-13 men's basketball schedule. Among the highlights of the 30-game slate are SLU's participation in the CBE Hall of Fame Classic in Kansas City, a road game against Washington of the Pac-12, a showdown against New Mexico on New Year's Eve at Chaifetz Arena and a home-and-home against new Atlantic 10 Conference member Butler.

The Billikens play 16 contests against teams that advanced to the postseason a year ago, including up to five against NCAA Tournament squads.

In addition to Saint Louis releasing its schedule, the A-10 announced the national TV package. In all, SLU will have up to 12 games nationally televised, including an additional two games that will be produced by CBS Sports Network and be available for syndication. The department of athletics is currently negotiating local TV deals with the goal of televising as many men's basketball games as possible. The complete TV schedule, which dictates tip times, will be released at a later date.

"We are extremely excited about this year's challenging schedule," SLU interim head coach Jim Crews said. "Our fans will witness some excellent basketball with ranked teams, talented teams and programs that are expected to compete for league championships. It will be a fun and exciting season at Chaifetz Arena."

SLU, which advanced to the third round of the NCAA Tournament and finished with a 26-8 record last year, opens the season with two home contests as part of the CBE Hall of Fame Classic. USC Upstate is the opponent for the opener Friday, Nov. 9, at Chaifetz Arena. Santa Clara comes to town Wednesday, Nov. 14, before the Billikens head to Kansas City.

Saint Louis faces Texas A&M Monday, Nov. 19, at the Sprint Center in Kansas City to begin the Championship Round of the tournament. That game tips at 6:30 p.m. (CT) on ESPNU. The following day, the Billikens will play either Kansas or Washington State in the consolation or championship game. The championship doubleheader on Tuesday, Nov. 20, starts at 6 p.m. (CT) with the consolation game on ESPN3, followed by the championship game on ESPNU.

The Billikens host Southern Illinois Saturday, Nov. 24, and then hit the road once again to meet Lorenzo Romar's Washington Huskies in Seattle on Wednesday, Nov. 28.

A home game against Valparaiso Sunday, Dec. 2, begins a nine-game home stretch that will keep the Billikens in St. Louis for more than a month. North Texas is the opponent Wednesday, Dec. 5, and UT Martin visits Saturday, Dec. 15. Eastern Illinois comes to town Wednesday, Dec. 19, followed by Loyola Marymount Saturday, Dec. 22.

Following the Christmas holiday, the Billikens welcome SIUE to Chaifetz Arena Friday, Dec. 28. On Monday, Dec. 31, New Mexico comes to town for a rematch of last year's New Year's Even thriller in the Pit in Albuquerque. The Bills close out the non-conference portion of their schedule Friday, Jan. 4, against Savannah State at Chaifetz Arena.

The A-10 slate gets underway Thursday, Jan. 10, when Massachusetts comes to town for a tilt televised on CBS Sports Network, one of 11 conference games that will be televised through the A-10 package. A game at Temple is slated for Saturday, Jan. 12, on ESPNU.

New conference member Butler comes to Chaifetz Arena Thursday, Jan. 31, and the Billikens make a trip to BU's Hinkle Fieldhouse Friday, Feb. 22. Both of those games are nationally televised. VCU plays at Chaifetz Arena for the first time as an A-10 member Tuesday, Feb. 19, in a game nationally televised on CBS Sports Network.

Additional A-10 games at Chaifetz Arena are: Rhode Island (Saturday, Jan. 19), Dayton (Saturday, Feb. 2), Charlotte (Saturday, Feb. 16), Saint Joseph's (Wednesday, Feb. 27) and La Salle (Saturday, March 9). The Billikens also travel to Duquesne (Wednesday, Jan. 23), St. Bonaventure (Saturday, Jan. 26), Fordham (Wednesday, Feb. 6), Richmond (Saturday, Feb. 9), George Washington (Saturday, March 2) and Xavier (Wednesday, March 6).

The Billikens will play one yet-to-be-announced exhibition game at Chaifetz Arena in early November.



Related Stories
Part II: McCall On Expanded A-10 & Teammates
 -by BillikenReport.com  Jul 30, 2012
Schedule Set for CBE Classic
 -by BillikenReport.com  Jul 26, 2012
Preseason A-10 Power Rankings
 -by BillikenReport.com  Nov 1, 2012

MAGAZINE COVERAGE
Get the 2014 Scout.com Recruiting Yearbook with an annual Total Access Pass
Sign Up Today!

Upgrade Now!
Free Email Newsletter
Don't miss any news or features from BillikenReport.com. Subscribe to our newsletter to have our newest articles emailed to you on a daily or weekly basis.
Click here for a list of all Team Newsletters.

Add Players to My HotList
Get free email alerts with news about your favorite players. Click name to add to My HotList.
PG Kwamain Mitchell (profile)
[View My HotList]
Add Topics to My HotList
Get free email alerts with news about your favorite topics. Click link to add to My HotList.
Basketball > Dominican HS > Alumni
Basketball > Saint Louis
[View My HotList]