St. Louis Eagles Invitational Recap

Brad Beal

The St. Louis Eagles Invitational was held on May 15-17 on the campus of Saint Louis University.

The host Eagles won the 16-and-under division with a 77-75 victory over Howard Pulley from Minnesota. The Eagles had to survive a half-court attempt by Howard Pulley's Nick Latzke, which bounced off the back of the rim at the buzzer.

It was the second consecutive title for the Eagles' 16-and-under team in the division. They won the 16-and-under championship as 15-year-olds last year in Columbia.

Shaquille Boga scored 19 points to lead four Eagles' players in double figures in the championship game. Bradley Beal scored 18 points, followed by Roosevelt Jones with 15 points and Phil Kunz with 12. Latzke scored a game-high 24 points to lead Howard Pulley.

In the semifinals, the Eagles defeated Gameface 69-59 as Beal scored a game-high 25 points followed by Jones with 17 points. Ed Wanner led Gameface with 19 points. The other semifinal contest was a double-overtime thriller which saw Howard Pulley outlast Prime Time 84-81. Clarence Thomas led Howard Pulley with 19 points while Andrew Erby led Prime Time with 26 points. A driving layup by D.J. Walker of Prime Time at the buzzer of regulation sent the game into overtime.

The Eagles' Roosevelt Jones was selected the Most Valuable Player of the tournament after a excellent weekend of all-around play. Jones averaged 14 points a game while leading the team in rebounding and steals.

Beal led the tournament in scoring at 19.5 points a game while Boga averaged 13.9 points in the five games.

The Eagles 15-and-under team also competed in the tournament, finishing pool play with a 2-1 record. Their highlight of the weekend was a thrilling 80-78 victory over Gameface in overtime on Saturday night at Cardinal Ritter.

All Tournament Team (16-and-Under)

Roosevelt Jones (St. Louis Eagles 16's) – MVP
Bradley Beal (St. Louis Eagles 16's)
Shaquille Boga (St. Louis Eagles 16's)
Marcus Alipate (Howard Pulley)
Nick Latzke (Howard Pulley)
Evan Battle (Howard Pulley)
B.J. Young (Gameface)
Andrew Erbe (Prime Time)
Demetrious Floyd (Team Fusion Elite)
Corey Arensten (St. Louis Eagles 15's)

Top 10 Scorers(By Average)

Bradley Beal (St. Louis Eagles 16s) 19.5
B.J. Young (Gameface) 17.7
Nick Latzke (Howard Pulley) 17.6
Marcus Alipate (Howard Pulley) 16.0
Demetrious Floyd (Team Fusion Elite) 16.0
Andrew Erbe (Prime Time) 15.5
Roosevelt Jones (St. Louis Eagles) 14.4
Shaquille Boga (St. Louis Eagles) 13.9
Dantiel Daniels (Gameface) 12.2
Raheim Holloway (Fusion Elite) 12.0

Howard Pulley wins Eagles' 17-and-Under title at the buzzer

Two weeks ago, the St. Louis Eagles traveled to Minnesota and won the championship of the Sabes Invitational, hosted by the Howard Pulley Panthers.

In a case of turnabout is fair play, Howard Pulley returned the favor last weekend by winning the 17-and-Under title at the St. Louis Eagles Invitational.

The Panthers defeated the host Eagles in the championship game in dramatic fashion as point guard Jordan Hughes hit a pull-up 3-pointer at the buzzer to give his team a 59-57 victory.

The Eagles had taken a 57-56 lead on a short jumper by Chris Babbitt with five seconds left. After a time-out, Hughes dribbled up court and pulled up from the right wing and sank a 20-footer at the buzzer. He finished with a game-high 16 points and took home Most Valuable Player honors in the process. The Eagles were led by Kony Ealy with 15 points, Karl Madison with 11 points and Hunter Ward with 10. Ealy and Ward were selected to the All-Tournament team.

In the semifinals, the Eagles defeated the Illinois Warriors 60-59 in another hotly contested game. Madison led the Eagles with 14 points while Ward added 13 points. In the other semifinal game, Howard Pulley defeated the Tennessee Travelers 78-60 as Jacob Thomas exploded for a game-high 39 points, which was the highest individual scoring output for the tournament.

All-Tournament Team (17-and-Under)

Jordan Hughes (Howard Pulley) – MVP
Jacob Thomas (Howard Pulley)
Kony Ealy (St. Louis Eagles)
Hunter Ward (St. Louis Eagles)
Dwayne Evans (Illinois Warriors)
Brandon Spearman (Illinois Warriors)
Jalen Steele (Tennessee Travelers)
Tyler Hood (Tennessee Travelers)
Rafael Akpejiori (Kansas City Keys)
Nate Buss (Iowa Barnstormers)

Top 10 Scorers (By Average)

Jalen Steele (Tennessee Travelers) 18.7
Dwayne Evans (Illinois Warriors) 17.5
Jacob Thomas (Howard Pulley) 17.0
Jordan Hughes (Howard Pulley) 16.2
Rafael Akpejiori (Kansas City Keys) 16.0
Brandon Spearman (Illinois Warriors) 14.0
Ben Brackney (Illinois Warriors) 13.2
Kony Ealy (St. Louis Eagles) 13.0
Hunter Ward (St. Louis Eagles) 12.6
Karl Madison (St. Louis Eagles) 11.8

For more information on the tournament, visit Recommended Stories

Up Next


8 Fans online
    Join The Conversation